Sunday, January 18, 2015

How to become an Asean Architect (AA)

Who can apply?

An Architect who possesses the qualifications and professional experience requirements specified in Part B of this Assessment Statement may apply to be registered in the ASEAN Architect Register (AAR) and accorded the title of ASEAN Architect (AA)

Where to apply?

Applications can be sent to the Asean Architect Monitoring Committee of the PRC-PRBOA.
(Under the ASEAN MRA on Architectural Services, the Professional Regulatory Authority (PRA) of each participating ASEAN Member State or in the case of the Philippines, the Professional Regulation Commission (PRC) shall authorize a Monitoring Committee (MC) to receive and process applications of its Architects for registration as AA, and to maintain the AA Registry.) 

What are the qualifications needed?

Any Architect who:
a) has completed a 5-year recognized architectural program or its equivalent in a university or school accredited by CHED;
b) possesses a current and valid professional registration and licensing certificate to practice architecture in the Philippines issued by the PRC;
c) has gained practical and diversified experience of not less than ten (10) continuous architectural practice after graduation, of which five (5) years shall be after licensure / registration;
d) has spent at least two (2) years in responsible charge of significant architectural work;
e) has complied with the CPE/CPD policy of the Philippines at a satisfactory level;
f) has not been convicted or charged of any serious violation of technical, professional and ethical standards, local and international, for the practice of architecture or of any crime which involves moral turpitude.

For the CPE, the PRC has set the activities that architects can take for their CPE. Those activities are counted as the Continuing Professional Education Unit (CPEU) and are divided into 8 items as follows:
1. Formal learning
2. Informal learning
3. Seminar, conference and meeting
4. Participation in professional activities
5. Service activities
6. Industry involvement
7. Contribution to knowledge
8. Patents
Different activities however have different weights of score attached to them. See details in the Committee Rules on Continuing Professional Education (CPE).


Related Posts


Post a Comment

Recent Comments


About This Blog

*Architecture Education, Lecture Notes, Board Exam Review, Review Questions

*Modern Architecture, New Concepts, Design Innovations

*Sustainable Architecture, Green Architecture, Ecological Design, Veg.itecture, Green Technologies,Energy-Efficient Design,Climate-Responsive Design, LEED-Compliant Buildings, LEED Certification, Organic Architecture, Earth-sheltered Homes, Strawbale Housing, Bamboo Structures

*Student Thesis Projects, School Projects

  © Blogger templates The Professional Template by 2008

Back to TOP